INSTRUMENT OF GOVERNMENT: VOLUNTARY CONTROLLED CE SCHOOLS

- 1. The name of the school is Brinkworth Earl Danby's Church of England Primary School.
- 2. The school is a voluntary controlled school.
- 3. The name of the governing body is "The Governing Body of Brinkworth Earl Danby's Church of England Primary School".
- 4. The governing body shall consist of:
 - (a) 5 parent governors
 - (b) 1 local authority governor
 - (c) 2 staff governors (including the head teacher)
 - (d) 6 co-opted governors
 - (e) 2 foundation governors
- 5. Total number of governors is 16.
- 6. The foundation governors will be appointed by the Bristol Diocesan Board of Education after consultation with Brinkworth and Dauntsey Parochial Church Councils.
- 7. (a) The holder of the following office shall be a foundation governor ex-officio:
 - The principal officiating minister for the parishes of Brinkworth and Dauntsey.
 - (b) The Archdeacon of the Archdeaconry in which the school is situated shall appoint a foundation governor to act in place of the principal officiating minister in the event that he/she is unwilling or unable to act as a foundation governor, or if there is a vacancy in the office by virtue of which the governorship exists.
- 8. The Archdeacon of the Archdeaconry shall be entitled to request the removal of any *ex-officio* foundation governor and to appoint any substitute governor.
- 9. Ethos Statement:

Recognising its historic foundation, the school will preserve and develop its religious character in accordance with the principles of the Church of England and in partnership with the Church at parish and diocesan level.

The school aims to serve its community by providing an education of the highest quality within the context of Christian belief and practice. It encourages an understanding of the meaning and significance of faith and promotes Christian values through the experience it offers to all its pupils.

- 10. This instrument comes into effect on 22nd July 2015.
- 11. This instrument was made by order of Wiltshire Council on 16th July 2015.