Skip to content ↓
Brinkworth Earl Danby’s CE Primary School

Brinkworth Earl Danby’s CE Primary School

Believe to Achieve! "Roots will grow down into God's love and keep us strong" EPH 3:17

The National Curriculum


The new National Curriculum will be delivered at Brinkworth Earl Danby’s CE Primary School from September 2014.

Pupils aged 5-16 in state schools must be taught the National Curriculum. This is divided into four ‘key stages’. At primary level we are concerned with the Foundation Stage and Key Stages 1 and 2 as follows:

Year Group
1 2
3 4 5 6
Age of pupils at end of year
6 7
8 9 10 11
Key Stage

Levels of Achievement
The National Curriculum sets standards of achievement in each subject for pupils aged 5-14. There are eight levels in the National Curriculum. Pupils are expected to work their way through one level every two years.
· Level 2 is the level expected of 7 year olds
· Level 4 is the expected level of 11 year olds
· Level 5 or 6 are the levels expected of 14 year olds.
Teacher Assessments
All teachers check their pupils’ progress in each subject as a normal part of their teaching. The Foundation Stage Profile is completed at the end of the reception year. Teachers must also assess pupils’ progress in English, Mathematics and Science against the National Curriculum standards when pupils reach the end of each key stage. The teacher decides which level best describes a pupil’s performance in each area of learning in that subject. Teachers use their knowledge of the work pupils have done throughout the year in class to judge the pupil’s progress.
Pupils are required to take national tests when they reach the end of each Key Stage. The tests measure attainment in specific aspects of the National Curriculum. At the end of Key Stages 1 and 2, pupils are tested in English and Mathematics. These tests give an indication of how pupils and schools are doing compared with national standards in these subjects.
Children are tested towards the end of Y3, Y4 and Y5 when they take “Optional SATs”. This gives information to assist us in monitoring attainment and progress.